1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Completed Zeus - Alexandros Models

Discussion in 'Painting Techniques' started by arxo, Oct 8, 2012.

1. arxo Active Member

Greece
    Hello to all PF members...

It's been a while since my last post, but at last (!!) I managed to finish this beautiful figure of ZEUS from Alexandros Models that's been 'bugging' me all this time. It was a big (literally) challenge for me, since it's my first try on such a big scale (80mm). It's painted in acrylics and based on an actual piece of marble upon which I painted freehand something like an ancient Greek motif. As a reference I used : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jupiter_and_Thetis_(Ingres), instead of the white/blue color scheme of the original box art.

I would like to thank PF member Christos Katselos for his advise on flesh tones and Zacharias of Legacy Miniatures for his skills in mending the casting errors (huge gap in the neck area), without of which I wouldn't be able to even start this figure.

IMG_6584.jpg IMG_6585.jpg IMG_6587.jpg IMG_6588.jpg IMG_6589.jpg IMG_6590.jpg IMG_6591.jpg IMG_6593.jpg IMG_6594.jpg IMG_6595.jpg

If you feel likevoting for it : http://www.coolminiornot.com/315841 .

And some photos of how it progressed :

base.jpg sbs1.jpg sbs2.jpg

All comments are welcome,

Thank you for your time.
    jerry, Braemp, Karlosfandango and 9 others like this.
  2. housecarl Moderator

United-Kingdom
    Brilliant work.
    I can't believe someone gave you a 6 on CMON.:meh:
    Carl.(y)
  3. arxo Active Member

Greece
    Thank you Carl. As for CMON, I still see it as waiting for approval, and don't know if the 6 you say it's the default entry rank. But to each it's own I guess...
  4. RFL Active Member

United-States