1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP Worn metal with masking fluid

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by martynfaller, Jul 29, 2011.

1. martynfaller New Member

United-Kingdom
    Hi all

Thought I'd share what I've been working on recently in the form of a small step-by-step. I'm working on the classic "After The Battle" bust by Andrea.

I'm new to this forum having taken a break from figures for a few years. I've been struggling to master acrylics for a while now but since I have recently switched to Acrylic Gouache I find I am having much better results. However, the bulk of my painting is still done with Andrea acrylics.

This bust is WIP at the moment, it's an old figure I know but I'm new to busts, and when it came to working on the helmet I wanted to achieve a worn metal look similar to that seen on the box art. Now there are a few techniques that can be used to achieve this look. There is the 'airbrush spatter' technique - but try as I might I can't get my Aztek airbrush to spatter. So I thought I'd try the technique using masking fluid.

In this step-by-step I'm going to show the technique of spattering masking fluid. It's an old technique and I apologize if this has been covered elsewhere.. but then you can't have too many tutorials! Anyway, I will show my results here and maybe this article will be of use to someone else.

First off I have applied the base colours to the helmet. For metallics I currently use the Valejo liquid metal alcohol-based metallics, however since I will be airbrushing the colours for this helmet I decided to use colours from the Andrea Silver set and Andrea Bronze.