1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Using the Figures Own Metal

Discussion in 'Painting Techniques' started by magister militum, Oct 2, 2008.

1. magister militum New Member

United-States
    Greetings,
    I'm new to Historical figures but not to painting. I've been a game/fantasy mini painter for years and have decided to focus on larger historicals mainly due to my love for military history.

Anyho0, I’ve always been an acrylic painter and am going to add oils to my pallet. I picked up Danilo Cartaccis book and am fascinated by his technique of using the figs own metals for armor and weapons.

Have any of you tried this and if so, what do you think of the results? Also what can I use to thin oils for washing? Terpenoid work?

Kevin
  2. Drebil New Member

Hungary
    Welcome:D

Turpenoid works, but if you have an artshop close to you, you might find odorless turpenoid.
  3. megroot A Fixture

Netherlands
    White spirit works.
    I hope that Roc drops in because in my opinion he can bring out the metals as the best.
    Make a search on this forum and look for threats he started and specially with knights. He is always giving his technic for the metals.

Marc
  4. Tarok Active Member

Australia
    G'day Kevin,

I take you are referring to Dani's method of polishing the metal before treating it with colour washes? I tried this technique a few months ago, and had mixed results the first time round. 2nd time round (on the same figure) went much better. Here's my WIP: http://tarokstales.blogspot.com/search/label/Sertorian%20Army

And no... the figure still isn't finished... it's in a container on a ship somewhere between Port Louis and Melbourne :eek:

Rudi :)
  5. Glen Active Member

United-States
    Howdy Kevin,