1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Tuscan and Norman one more time

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by pabelo40, Aug 21, 2005.

1. pabelo40 New Member

Hi Planet :)

I paint one more time Tuscan and Norman. Other exemplars.
    [IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]
    [IMG]

Best regards
    Pawel
  2. dario966 New Member

Czolem Pawel,
    I think those are nicely animated and fearsome, warrior-like sculptures, especially the guy (Tuscan) with morgernstern.
    I am a novice to this miniature art but I am academically trained historian and lately also an artist in 2d art, so I would like to offer some (combined - others and my own humble opinion) insight on one of the aspects of medieveal figure modeling.
    I just would like to comment on the shield construction and appearance as shown in your sculptures. You sculpted the backside(reverse) of your shields having appearance of wooden planks or some other wooden material(which is quite common)s. These shields (these here are 12 through 14 century period figures?) probably should have been also encased in leather or some sort of covering (parchement etc) that also might have been painted on the inner part of the shield etc. It is common knowledge that wooden boards and planks, once pierced or shattered or otherwise attacked with a sharp object capable of penetrating them, do splinter and those splinters can be very sharp indeed; that is they in turn might penetrate or injure whatever stands behind them.

It then makes sense fo protect oneself from these potentially harmful splinters etc by encasing a wooden shield in some sort of a tight leather or parchment covering.