1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Completed The Little Crook - bust

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by milbenplage, Jun 5, 2023.

1. milbenplage Active Member

Hi, new project that I will post here.
    This is "The little Crook" by Nick Tsouhlos. He asked my if I wanted to paint it, so I started painting it at a painters hangout in Nürnberg/Germany.
    Since I had no idea how to start I did some research during the train ride to Nürnberg. I'am a fan of Johan Egerkranz, so I searched some art by him that would fit the theme.
    IMG_20230603_081658.jpg

I started with some German Dark Camo Green (VMC) over the skin. I mixed some Rosy Flesh (new VGC) in the GDCG and painted it into the still wet layer from before, but only on his left side.
    I did the same with a mix of GDCG and Emeral (VMC) on the right side and his back.

The rest of the skin is mainly a back and forth between the folling mixes:
    GDCG + Ivory (VMC)-> Basic mix
    GDCG + Sunny Skin Tone (VMC) -> for warmer areas (left side)
    GDCG + Ivory + Emeral -> for colder areas (right side and back)
    GDCG + Rosy Flesh -> area around the nose, ears and mouth
    I added Ivory when I need brighter tone of those mixes.
    (the right side is painted with the GDCG+Ivory mix if you need a reference)

IMG_20230605_081609.jpg IMG_20230605_081851.jpg

I used glazes of Mahagony Brown (VMC) for the ears and some shadow areas.
    I also made a dark red out of Black (MINIM) and Primary Red (ABT502) and used it around the nose area.

I used Deep Green (ABT502) for the eyes. I added some brighter tones with a mix of Deep Green and Yellow Green (VMC). The white reflections are painted with Intense White (AK 3G).

Nicks-bust-001.jpg