1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Still Another Beginner Question

Discussion in 'Sculpting' started by KeithP, Jan 19, 2007.

1. KeithP Active Member

United-States
    Sorry to bother with more Sculpting 101 questions...

I have read thru Mike Blanks Modelissimo book and Gary's 20th Georgia article but I am a bit confused on the armature thing.

For a complete beginner, is it recommended to:

Start out with a purchased, pre made armature rather than make one from scratch?
    It seemed like Mike used many previously custom cast pieces to make his work go faster and neater.

is it better to start out at a larger scale to learn the craft? Say, 120 mm instead of 1/35th or 54mm?

I don't yet have any subject in mind yet but I am stuck with how to start.

Any comments are welcome. Thanks-

Keith
  2. garyjd Well-Known Member

United-States
    Keith, This all depends on what YOU want to do. If you start out with a pre made armature all that is left is to do is add a uniform and maybe sculpt a head unless you use one of many spares available. This is but one way to approach scratchbuilding. There are manufacturers that sell armatures that require you to just add clothing to your figure or add the fleshy parts over a photo etched (Andrea's?) armature. To sculpt a head and other details in a larger scale may be easier, It is less forgiving if your figure is out of proportion.

Personally, I think the head as being the more challanging part. You could also start out with a 120mm bust so you can concentrate on the head alomg with a bit of uniform attached to it. If you went this route you would not be facing the thought of an ENTIRE figure, just a part of it.