1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Shading Questions

Discussion in 'Just starting...' started by Chuck Willis, Mar 11, 2019.

1. Chuck Willis New Member

United-States
    Greetings!

I am relatively new to figure painting and have a few questions I'm hoping more experienced figure painters can answer. I am painting figures (minus the faces) exclusively with Vallejo acrylics and am having very good results putting down an even and opaque coat on uniforms and equipment. I'm a little stumped on producing a good shading color. For example, I'm painting a D-Day Miniatures WW I German Sentry wearing a heavy sheepskin (?) overcoat which I base coated using Vallejo Dark Sand. I've tried mixing some of the base color with Vallejo Burnt Umber to create a shade color, but either the color looks too light with less Burnt Umber or too stark with more Burnt Umber.

So my questions are:

Is there a 'general' or 'basic' rule for creating a shading color? Based on my reading some articles on figure painting, it appears using a mix of the basecoat and a darker color.

What would be considered a ratio of base coat to darker color?

What would be a good ratio of thinner to shade color when preparing to paint the figure?

Sorry for the long-winded questions here.

Any input and advise is most appreciated.

Cheers!

Chuck
  2. DaddyO A Fixture

United-Kingdom
    Hi Chuck no basic rule I'm afraid (if only life were as simple as that) :)

The amount of shade (or darkness if you prefer) is very personal and depends on the colour and the feel which you are after. In bright sunlight the shadows will be darker than on a cloudy day for example.