1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

sanding and finishing plaster sculpture...need help

Discussion in 'Sculpting' started by Daveum79, Sep 4, 2019.

1. Daveum79 Member

I've made a few recents posts with regards to making gypsum plaster sculptures and other sculptures...i'm still fairly new to working with plaster. I'm currently using Crystacal R. When sanding sculptures down I've found alot of chalky marks that keep coming off from the plaster onto fingers when handled. I can't sell the sculptures if this happens as customers are just going to pick the figurine up and end up with plaster marks on their hands and wonder why it's rubbing of. Apart from obviously sealing plaster with a varnish is there any other way to prevent it rubbing off on your fingers? Is sand papers the best to use or is there an alternative method?
  2. JasonB Moderator

United-States
    Plaster is going to leave white residue when handled unless is painted or sealed, and you would probably want to seal it before painting to keep the plaster from absorbing lots of paint. For sanding, you can try finer grades of Scotch scratchy pads. Plaster is usually so soft than any heavy grit sand papers are going to leave heavy scratches. This is why most figures and figurines you find are either resin, cold cast porcelain (basically resin with powdered porcelain mixed in) or other, more durable materials.
  3. Daveum79 Member