1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP Critique Russian Commander Voevoda XVII Century

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by tiberius57, Mar 2, 2012.

1. tiberius57 A Fixture

Canada
    This 54mm ELITE Miniaturas is my latest almost finished project. It is my first attempt to paint in acrylics. I used Andrea green and red paint sets. I burnished the armour and helmet and applied oil washes. The armour and helmet ornaments are painted in metallic enamels as well as the other metallic ornaments. The cape has a light sheen, which is amplified by the lights used during the photo session. I was wondering why this happened after the last highlights. Before it was solid flat. I didn’t used Tamiya X21 Flat Base. I just received a bottle few days ago. The last step is to seal with a mat varnish. On other projects I used Krylon Matte Finish in a spray can. I was thinking to use for the first time Vallejo Mat Varnish. How are you applying this varnish? Diluted? Strait from the bottle? Using a brush? Airbrush?
    Your feedback is much appreciated.
    Cheers,
    Zeno
    IMG_1098 - Copy-800-600.jpg IMG_1099 - Copy-800-600.jpg
  2. ChaosCossack A Fixture

Canada
    Zeno
    Excellent work on this piece. Very strong colours and the armour looks awesome.

Keep 'em coming

Colin
  3. tiberius57 A Fixture

Canada
    Thanks Colin. Do you have any experience with Vallejo Mat Varnish?
  4. Ferris A Fixture

Looks great, especially for your first attempt with acrylics.

I have some experience with Matt varnish from Vallejo. I'm not too keen on it. It does dull things up, but doesn't give that dead matt finish you'd want.. And I have the impression that it actually loses some mattness over time.