Progress on the Mohawk

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by Sambaman, Feb 1, 2006.

1. Sambaman Well-Known Member

United-States
    Well, for me at least, the best news about this post is that I finly have Photoshop back on my machine and I couldn't be happier! Enough about software.....This is the latest little gem on my bench. It's Michael Roberts Mohawk Chieftan bust in 1/9th scale sculpted by the Planet's very own Gary Dombrowski. (How's that plug Gary?) I have to say that this is one beauty of a sculpt. The facial expression is what drew me to this piece. Very regal and befitting a chieftan.

It is my first attempt at any Native American subject matter. As you can see I have the fleshtones basically done (in oils of course, thus the shinny finish), and the head-band has the basic highlight and shadow done. It's hard to get a good feeling for the over all look because of the sheen, but as soon as it is dull-coated it should come together. The left eye on the straight on shot looks a bit funky in the pics, he caught a bit of glare there, but it is nice and straight in person. I will go back and redefine the headband with stronger shadows and high-highlights soon. I am going to try something a bit new for me on this piece as well. I want to make the head roach from actual hair. I think I am going to die some of my Woodland Scenics fall grass red with either food coloring or Rit die. I have never tried this before, but experimentation is half the fun in this hobby! Has anyone else tried this before? Can you share any tips? I haven't decided on tattoos for this guy yet, and I think other than that I will mostly paint as per the box art for the rest of him.