1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP Critique Pathfinder Dragon from Reaperminiatures

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by Brushguy, Sep 9, 2014.

1. Brushguy Active Member

Germany
    Hello!

And now for some lighter fantasy themed w.i.p.
    I've been carrying around the namegiving dragon for a few years now, from show to show as a demo painting piece. This year I decided it was finally time to finish it and put it up on a propper base. (and also because I've been telling folks for years, it will soon be finished ;) )
    So for the past few month I've been working on that certain base, that I had on my mind for as long as I am painting on that dragon now.

Well, here are the first steps:

To create a propper and sturdy base that would fit nicely onto the wooden socket, I had chosen for this project, I built a cup-shaped one-shot casting mould out of aluminium foil around the top of the wooden socket and made sure it was sealed tight around it.

[IMG]

[IMG]

Then I mixed up some plaster-like Stewalin and poured it into the "cup". I also use Stewalin for my Hirstarts moulds. Great stuff for casting parts!
    While still soft and wet, I placed some ruined parts into the Stewalin, also cast from Stewalin.

[IMG]

After the whole cast had set and dried, I removed the metal foil and testfitted the dragon onto it.

[IMG]

As you can see, there are still some fragments of the aluminium foil stuck in the Stewalin.
    I also cleaned those off later.

Well, that's it for now. Soon I will post more on how I went on with it...
    Thanks for watching.

Cheers
    Dirk
    Steve, samson, tiberius57 and 5 others like this.
  2. jhonnsanchez Member

Great iadea for dioramas ! thanks for share-

jhonn