1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Painting a Shield

Discussion in 'General Figure Talk' started by Dolf, Jun 20, 2020.

1. Dolf Well-Known Member

Portugal
    Hi!

I've almost finished my Viriato bust, from RP Models, and I kept the painting of the shield for last, because 1) it's the 1st shield I'll be painting, and 2) it's probably (for me at least) the most difficult part/piece to correctly paint on this great bust.

What I have in mind (and this is an easy choice compared to other shields paintings for the same bust I've seen here... But the ones previously shown here are all painted by Masters, I'm just an amateur...) is to depict on my shield the same exact patters shown on Viriato's statue on Viseu, a city on the NE of Portugal, on a region where apparently he was born.

Here are a couple of pics of the statue, where we can see the shield I want to depict:

[IMG]

[IMG]

So far, I was able to draw the shape of those 12 kind of "rays" on a piece of paper, then on a piece of transparent paper, which I intended to use to kind of copy them to the shield itself.
    Well, that didn't work.

So now I've kind of drawn a sketch of those rays on the shield, using a regular pencil. Not an easy task as the shield has wood lines cast on the resin.
    The idea is to give me some kind of guiding lines to then draw the definitive shape, and later... what? Paint those lines? Use some kind of ink pen to draw them?

I really don't know, and this is my main question now!

Here is a pic of the shield as it looks now, after a base coat with Humbrol Natural Wood:

[IMG]

I don't think I'll be able to paint those lines using a hand brush, not even with a 000 W&N mini series 7 brush!