1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Painting 1/48 flesh with oils?

Discussion in 'Oils' started by goof1972, Dec 17, 2016.

1. goof1972 New Member

United-States
    Hi Guys,

I'm a novice trying oil paints for the first time.

I'm practicing painting flesh on a 1/48 fallschirmjager but the paints seem to be "blending" into each other so much that it looks like one colour.

My question is oil suitable for such a small scale? Or is it more for larger scale like busts? Is there a good resource or video on how to start with oils in miniatures?

Thanks!
    Brian
  2. Nap Moderator

England
    Hi there Brian

FIrstly welcome to PF good to have you here enjoy tge visits

I use water soluable Oils along my Acrylics ( Not a full blown Oily!! )

It sounds like the paint is too thick , perhaps try a wash over a base flesh mix of Acrylics

There are other "proper" Oil painters that will advise better

As for videos have a look at You Tube

Hope this helps

Nap
  3. theBaron A Fixture

United-States
    I'd say it is suitable, and I'll cite the example of painters who use oils to paint flats, often in much smaller scales than 1/48. So, it can be done. I second Nap, that there will likely be responses soon from others who are more experienced with using oils. I have some, but I use them more for shading over acrylics, and for weathering ordinance.

I hope you post some pics of the figure you're painting. I'd like to see it. When I paint a 1/48 figure, it's usually a pilot to go with an airplane. I use acrylics, mostly, laying in the basic colors, and then using washes and drybrushing to pick out details.

Prost!
    Brad
    anstontyke and napoleonpeart like this.
  4. Alex A Fixture

Canada