1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

New Zealand modeler V2.0

Discussion in 'Welcome aboard' started by MarkNZ, Feb 26, 2016.

1. MarkNZ Member

New_Zealand
    Hi All

I'm a modeler that started many years ago as a child in the UK and created / butchered many an Airfix kit. Then it fell by the wayside with the usual teenage boy distractions. Fast forward many many years and I now reside in Auckland.

I bought a few full figure kits about six years ago with a view to getting back into things. While a great thought, it never actually eventuated.

However, three months ago I found this site and it inspired me to kick things off (After a lot of research and accumulation of new materials, paints etc). With the age comes the more relaxed and measured approach, allowing you to walk away for a day or two rather than trying to knock it out in one go.

My preferred modelling has moved away from armour to figures, namely busts.

I'm looking forward to improving my efforts both through practice and learning from the other very talented modelers on here.

Cheers

Mark
    napoleonpeart likes this.
  2. loosehead Active Member

Australia
    Morning Mark
    Welcome to the block , heaps of kiwis on both sides of the ditch onsite ....... lookin forward to seeing some of your work and glad to see you realized that figures are the true calling
    Regards
    Chris W
  3. Nap Moderator

England
    Hi Mark ,

Welcome to PF good to have you with us ...and you're looking at busts ..nice one ....a fellow from NZ Andy Cairns does some rather nice stuff ....

Any particular period or scale ?

Nap
  4. MarkNZ Member

New_Zealand
    Hi Nap

Thanks for the welcome. My preferred period at the moment is WWII and my first time using water based acrylics.