1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

My First Attempt

Discussion in 'Just starting...' started by OSS, Mar 27, 2019.

1. OSS Active Member

United-Kingdom
    My first real attempt with oils ................

image.jpeg
  2. Banjer A Fixture

England
    Nicely done. Was this an experiment or are you looking to change to this medium?
    Bill
    Nap likes this.
  3. OSS Active Member

United-Kingdom
    Not sure about nicely done , but thank you ...no experiment I am new to the hobby and while I prefer oils its really tough with so many people saying so many things I have painted a few other bits but this is the first one I posted................I usually do the following..

Prime some times in black but usually grey
    Then a base coat acrylic usually a sand colour
    I then mix my oils and apply a layer of the particular skin tone I am trying to get and then thin it back
    My next effort is usually where I get it wrong , in that I dont do enough to to make a good contrast so while I know more or less where to put the highs and lows perhaps not enough difference in the skin tones
    Eyes ,lower and upper eye lids in acrylic and the rest in oils

Uniforms ............maybe too much paint I dont usually thin it and of course am poor at shading so feel free to add your thoughts have sent you one of my other bits

Attached Files:

KenBoyle and oldtrousers like this.
  4. grasshopper A Fixture

Canada
    Better....but try even thinner oil layers...less painting a wall more building up colour and light...
  5. OSS Active Member

United-Kingdom
    Ok will do
  6. fogie A Fixture

United-Kingdom
    There is a technique called 'dry-brushing' which is useful for blending. When you apply contrasting colours