1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Iron Brigade bust, Forlorn Hope

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by tonydawe, Nov 19, 2008.

1. tonydawe A Fixture

Australia
    Hi guys,

Here are the first pics of a new bust I'm working on. It's a 1/9th scale bust of an Iron Brigade sergeant brilliantly sculpted by the late, great David Ridley of Forlorn Hope Miniatures, who sadly passed away earlier this year and was generously given to me by my great mate Alan Mackie.

I'm not an ACW expert and need some help from Planeteers on getting the uniform colours right. This is actually my very first ACW figure:eek:

Can anyone advise me on a good mix of colours, in Vallejo acrylics, for Union Blue? I've base coated him in a mix of Prussian Blue and Oxford Blue.

What colour is the belt with the eagle? Are the buttons brass or gold?

The face has been base coated and shadows added. I haven't done the highlights yet or any blending. Still very early days.

Any help would be appreciated.

Attached Files:

2. Christos Well-Known Member

Greece
    Looks good even in the first steps!
    chris
  3. Jamie Stokes Well-Known Member

Australia
    Buttons..

Hi Tony,
    I am guessing you are asking about the "colour" of the buttons, rather then the materials.

I haven t posted the pics yet, but for my "China Lady" some of her fittings for her necklace, earrings etc I gave a base coat of GW Gold, the and highlight of GW shining gold, then gave a wash with GW brown ink, to help cut the shine, and add some depth to the details. Seemed to work ok, I'm sure that others will chime in with their opinions and broader experience