1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

I have a question... Why regiment?

Discussion in 'General Figure Talk' started by BlackWarrior, Mar 8, 2004.

1. BlackWarrior Member

South-Korea
    hi...

I have a question when i subscribed the magazine, "Military Modelling".
    That has a regular article named "Famous Regiment".

Why is the regiment a unit of army?
    Is it specialized only Great Britain? or Is it normally formed in the European army.

Nowaday, In this korea, Korean army accepted that organization. then, The Korean Army organized with platoon, company, battalion, regiment, divison, army.
    but, Before about 130 years ago, the old korean dynasty, named, "Chosun(Josun)" organized a different structure. and oldest dynasty also was different from current formation.

In old korea dynasty, Chosun, always prepared the reserve troops against outside threat. Needly to say, they have a regular army.
    But, I know that the reserver troops were consisted with 8000 men each province.

and I know that the mongol has a organization from 10 men unit to 10000 men unit. their army consisted with 10,000 men unit.

and I heard that Chinese old dynasty, Ching has a formation totally 8 army unit.

Then, I suspected that the meaning of "regiment" is a unit from "Duke" or a feudal lord. Is it correct?

In world war II, the war story wrote with divison or army. US 82nd airborne division etc... I want to know why the older story of war in European consisted with regiment unit...

have a nice day!!!
  2. Uruk-Hai PlanetFigure Supporter

Sweden
    Not being an expert on the military terms, but in some if not many country an Regiment is the training facility for troops before being assigned to their units.