1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

How to paint 1/72nd scale figures

Discussion in 'Painting Techniques' started by Chris Kelm, Jun 3, 2020.

1. Chris Kelm Active Member

United-States
    Hello everyone,
    I would like to know if there is any websites or how-to videos out there that deals with the small scale figure painting especially 1/72nd scale figures?
    I have been building 1/72nd scale armor for many years and now I would like to add some figures to my vehicles. I've heard of painters who paint in this scale and smaller and have there figures look as good as their 54mm/35th scale counterparts. so they are out there but I have no idea what website,if there are any or even a tutorial for that matter. any help would be of great help.
    Thank you
    Chris
  2. arj A Fixture

United-Kingdom
    Hi Chris,

Try feeding ... painting "1/72" scale soldiers ... into Chrome, and select videos.
    The 1/72 is in inverted commas to exclude all the other scales that are bound to come up.
    The locations that are included with the videos might well lead you to other sites of interest.

Happy hunting,
    Andrew
  3. theBaron A Fixture

United-States
    I don't have any links or references to share, but I do have a quick-and-dirty technique for painting 1/72 figures, particularly crew figures for AFVs or aircraft.

After cleaning the figures with warm water and a degreaser, I prime with Tamiya Fine Surface Primer (my primer of choice).
    I lay in the base colors, so, exposed flesh, and uniform pieces, and gear.