1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Acrylics Help with NMM

Discussion in 'Painting Techniques' started by clevischi, Aug 7, 2011.

1. clevischi Member

United-States
    Hello friends, this is my first try using NMM, but i realize that something is missing, the effect is not so well, could please some one help me?

[IMG]

[IMG]
  2. megroot A Fixture

Netherlands
    I think you should choosen here for real metallics.
    The NMM technique is in my opinion for golden and silver lace, what in reality is not metallic.

Marc
  3. Meehan34 A Fixture

United-States
    since you are trying NMM's you probably already know they can be used to create any color of metal, red, green, blue, silver, gold etc.. If you are trying only to create a realistic silver you can just use very thin (well placed) coates of black over a white base coat. the first pass with the thin black will actually appear gray because of the white under layer. Each new pass of black makes the grey darker and darker. Make sure your highest high lite is about pure white and it should be a sharp edge highlite to create the shine. If you want more fantasy looking metal add some purples and blues in there. You'll also want to have some shine lines (I don't know the technical term) a good reference for this would be some paintings that depict shiny objects such as christmas ornament bulbs or even of chrome things like bumpers on cars. It is a very hard thing to pull off but when it is done properly it looks 10x better than metallic paint (In my opinion). Don't give up and keep us posted on your progress.
    Guy likes this.
  4. gordy Well-Known Member

United-States
  5. clevischi Member

United-States