1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Help for sculpting materials for an absolute beginner

Discussion in 'Just starting...' started by OLECHNICKI, Apr 12, 2020.

1. OLECHNICKI New Member

I'd really like to get into sculpting, but I don't want to go all out and buy a bunch of pro-tools and materials, when I really just want to get to know the basics first. Which tools, types of/brand of clay should I look to buy? I've been drawing for years and have well-enough grasp on how to construct the figure but if you have any figure sculpting book recommendations, I'll consider those as well.
    Thanks.
    NeilW and malc like this.
  2. kevininpdx Well-Known Member

United-States
    NeilW and Nap like this.
  3. Nap Moderator

England
    Hi there

A BIG WELCOME to PF , why not also introduce yourself in the WELCOME ABOARD part as well

As for sculpting I have put a thread in the Sculpting part linked no this thread https://www.planetfigure.com/threads/sculpting-advice-for-a-new-member.227911/

I use magisculpt to put details on busts with m main tools being a needle in a cork !

You might find these books of help ( Amazon )

Feel free to message me ( moderator) if you have any questions

Look forward to seeing your putty pushing

Happy benchtime

Nap

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.png
    Fransab, NeilW and malc like this.
  4. Borek A Fixture

Czech-Republic
    Hi Olechnicki

Welcome on PF :)

Such advice is hard to give, because everyone will love something different. In the end, I think you'll want to try everything to compare all the materials. So I can give advice only from my perspective.