1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

First Bust

Discussion in 'Sculpting' started by JCOX, Dec 6, 2003.

1. JCOX Active Member

United-States
    Ok, let's give this new fangled camera a whirl.... :eek:

This is my very first forray into the sculpting world. It's a bust of Mr. Spock from the 60's TV series Star Trek. I thought this would be a good first subject because of the many references I have available (yes, I'll admit to being somewhat of a trekkie ), and he has very distinctive facial features.

Please feel free to give comments, suggestions and recommendations as all would be gratefully welcome. I'm new to this and every little bit will help immensely.

-jim cox
  2. Guy A Fixture

United-States
    Jim, you are right on the mark.Looking great and keep us posted with photos.

guy (y)
  3. JCOX Active Member

United-States
    Here's another view...
  4. JCOX Active Member

United-States
    And from the side...
  5. Craig B New Member

Canada
    It looks to be a great start, doing actual TV/movie characters is a challenge because your copying a certain image rather than a generic person.

Look forward to seeing more.

Craig
  6. garyjd Well-Known Member

United-States
    Jim, Your off to a great start, and tackling a TV/movie character is no small task. Keep going.~Gary
  7. frank h Well-Known Member

England
    Hi James, terrific work.
    I think the tilt of the head gives him that slightly quizzical look
    we have seen when kirk appears to act illogically.
    Which can only enhance the character.

Frank (y)

Star Trek Fan
    (Original series I grew up with it)
  8. Joe Hudson Well-Known Member

United-States
    Jim,

This is looking really nice. What are the different putties that you are using?

Joe