WIP Duke of Wellington, CGS Minitaures

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by tonydawe, Dec 8, 2013.

1. tonydawe A Fixture

Australia
    Hi guys,

A very productive weekend for me.:D

I started painting this bust, sculpted by DF Grieve, on Friday night and this is where I finished up on Sunday night. Most of the painting is just base coating at this stage, although I've started shading and highlighting the skin.

As always, I welcome any comments/ criticisms.
    IMG_1337.JPG IMG_1339.JPG IMG_1343.JPG IMG_1345.JPG
  2. Nap A Fixture

England
    Tony ,

A great sculpt , I am glad that CGS have kept this one ...and a great companion to Blucher as well

Can you share how you achieve the sash effect (loved the Blucher one)

Look forward to even more progress

Thanks for sharing

Nap
  3. swralph A Fixture

looking good
  4. tonydawe A Fixture

Australia
    Thanks Nap & swralph, I appreciate your comments guys.

Nap, the sash has just been undercoated with Jo Sonya acrylics at this stage. I'm working on adding some subtle textures into the sash to show its weave pattern, but its almost impossible to see in these pics. To give the sash a slight silky shimmer without making it glossy, I've added a small amount of pearlescent white to the blue mix. This will be used mainly on the highlights.
    napoleonpeart likes this.
  5. tonydawe A Fixture

Australia
    A little bit more progress last night.

Still base coating some parts, especially the medals and decorations on the tunic. Also tweaking the skin tones slightly, adding 5 o'clock shadow.

The red is shiny because I've just added an oil wash to deepen the tunic colour.
    IMG_1349.JPG IMG_1351.JPG IMG_1352.JPG
    Wings5797 and napoleonpeart like this.
  6. Funky50 Guest

The oak leafs on the coller looks really nicely done......love it
  7. MalcC A Fixture

England
    Tony

Coming on very nicely.
  8. prhayes68 Active Member

United-States