1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP Critique Duel to the death- Roman v Germanic

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by ChaosCossack, Jul 14, 2013.

1. ChaosCossack A Fixture

Canada
    Hey All

I dug up this pair at the back of the shelf. It's a vignette from a Pegaso series vignettes that lock together to create a large diorama of the German ambush of a Roman column in the Teutoburg Forest... I think. I have NO background info into this era.:oops: I started the Roman well over a year ago and picked up the Germanic tribesman this week. Trying to keep the brushes moving while I struggle with the putty thing :wtf:

I was going for a redheaded northman when doing the face and hair so I tried to keep his complexion a little paler. The hair is based with Vallejo OrangeBrown, highlighted by adding yellow and shading by adding Carmine. The hair and beard were then washed with Citadel Ogryn Flesh wash and a bit of Baal Red wash added to the beard to make it a darker red than the hair.
    IMGP0245.jpg IMGP0246.jpg IMGP0247.jpg IMGP0248.jpg IMGP0249.jpg IMGP0250.jpg IMGP0251.jpg
    The Roman needs a little freshening up... Really shows the difference between my work now and where I was 18 months ago.
    IMGP0252.jpg IMGP0253.jpg IMGP0254.jpg IMGP0255.jpg IMGP0258.jpg
    This Project is "Shooter Approved" (y)
    IMGP0259.jpg

Thanx for looking in, comments and critiques are always welcome

Cheers

Colin
    Adoril, Aveleira, Meehan34 and 6 others like this.
  2. Wings5797 A Fixture

France
    Hi Colin,
    First things first........my better half loves the black panther on your bench, she also says "it's probably a recipe for figure painting trouble".