1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Bonapartes’ Poste Militaire castings

Discussion in 'General Figure Talk' started by kevininpdx, Jun 30, 2020.

1. kevininpdx Well-Known Member

United-States
    I’ve been buying classic kits lately but I’m a painter not a collector. Does anyone have any experience with castings by Bonapartes? Is it worth it quality wise to pay the higher prices for original Poste Militaire kits?
  2. yellowcat A Fixture

Canada
    PM send. What PM kits are you after?
    kevininpdx likes this.
  3. kagemusha A Fixture

United-Kingdom
    IMHO...and from experience of Bonapartes castings of the Poste Militaire kits...I would recommend them unreservedly (y)

Ron
    peedee, Mirofsoft and kevininpdx like this.
  4. Chris Oldfield A Fixture

England
    Haven't bought any Poste Militaire kits from Bonaparte's, but I do deal with them fairly regularly (received a Roll Call figure from them yesterday) & can verify that their turnround of orders & customer service is second to none. Highly recommended seller!
    peedee and kevininpdx like this.
  5. kevininpdx Well-Known Member

United-States
    Hi Ron thanks for the reply. When was the last time you bought one of those kits? My worry is the molds are blown but I’m not afraid of mold lines. I can get a few originals but the price is about double.
  6. Hawk_Uk PlanetFigure Supporter

United-Kingdom
    Hi Kevin,
    From what I remember, and think is still the case, the casting company they use is Grey Matter Figures who are very good and they would have created molds when they started casting for Bonapartes.

If the casting is not great then you should always raise it with the company that you purchased from. I would expect the same from our customers.