1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Beginner Panzer Commander bust

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by Peter-Krieg, Aug 23, 2020.

1. Peter-Krieg Member

Spain
    Hi, as I said in my presentation post, I have some experience painting miniatures for wargames between 15-28mm, but this will be my first attempt of painting a large scale figure.

I will try to post here the whole process, so you can give me some advice, opinions and critiques.

The bust is from Life Miniatures beginner line: https://www.lifeminiatures.com/product-page/beginners-series-no-1-ww2-german-panzer-commander

I will follow this painting guide published by MrBlack: https://www.mrblackpublications.com/PAINTING_GUIDE_1/p1000980_20527427.aspx

First of all where cutting and sanding down the resin excess and the minimal mould lines. After a dry fit test, I drilled some holes in the head, torso, and wooden base, so I can put each part in a holder for the painting process.
    I also added some Milliput to the neck to improve the contact surface with the head, and get a better union when gluing both parts.
    I washed all the pieces with soapy warm water I mount each part in a holder.

DSC00825.JPG

I masked the gluing surfaces to prevent any paint sticking and get a better bond. I primed it using Vallejo Grey Primer applied with the airbrush. I also blocked the main colours using the airbrush and some masking putty. Now it is ready to start with the brushes.
    DSC00826.JPG
  2. Nap Moderator

England
    Hi there

Good to see this SBS started and really good start , well explained

Personally I fully build and base up the bust I am working on then after prepping and then prime in black like you

Following this with interest

Happy benchtime

Nap