1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Advice on painting Tattoos ?

Discussion in 'Painting Techniques' started by Chris K, Feb 9, 2011.

1. Chris K New Member

United-Kingdom
    Dear Planeteers,

I often see fantastic tattoos on figures,

can anyone offer advice on how to render a tattoo on a figure, ideally both celtic type and more modern looking tattoos, I am hoping for advice on how to make them look natural, and any tips on painting the design.

I am an ex soldier and I am the proud (and not so proud of a couple) owner of many tattoos , so I would like to place them on some of my figures.

Thank you in advance for any advice / tips / tricks that any of you can provide
    Best Regards

Chris
  2. Einion Well-Known Member

Excellent - use them as your colour references. Other than fanciful designs the most common fault in how tattoos are depicted on miniatures is in their colour (usually too blue).

Practice off the figure first (especially if you're trying this in acrylics)! Good idea to do any tests or practice attempts at the final size too.

Work directly from references; don't make it up as you're going along or try to work from memory.

Painting onto a 3D surface can be tough and lightly pencilling in a few guidelines can really help keep the design from wandering. You can use regular pencil for this (as long as the graphite lines are then covered by paint) as well as coloured pencil if you happen to have any. Any remaining coloured pencil marks can be cleaned off with water or a little turps/spirits, depending on the type of pencil.

Einion
    gordy likes this.
  3. housecarl Moderator

United-Kingdom
  4. gordy Well-Known Member

United-States
    Great question Chris.

It would make a great article :)