WIP Critique 28mm Dominique Jean Larrey

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by gazer, May 19, 2018.

1. gazer Member

Israel
    Good morning friends

This is my first "serious" miniature figure and my second figure ever. Due to my job requirements and due to parenting 2 hyperactive toddlers, unfortunately, I don't think I will be able to progress too quickly with this build...
    As a beginner, I'll appreciate your most sincere feedback and remarks , no mercy please! I want to learn and improve!

This is a 28mm Warlord Games miniature of Dominique Jean Larrey, a very prominent Napoleonic surgeon, considered by many as one of the founding fathers of modern military combat medicine. See the following thread: http://www.planetfigure.com/threads...ferences-identify-sources.113206/#post-905928

In my opinion, this metal figure is nicely sculpt, but due to it's size, I am not sure it was the best choice for a first figure. Anyhow, it was cleaned, filed, mounted temporarily on a base, and primed with gray automotive primer. After the primer dried I discovered yet some more mold lines, filed them again and re-primed. I started block painting the skin areas (face, hands, Vallejo basic skin tone), belt, boots, bicorn (Vallejo black) and pants (Vallejo white). The white was translucent, so I'll add more layers at a later date. The rest of the blocking process will also be done later, with Vallejo acrylics.

After blocking done, I plan to paint the entire figure with W&N oils.

Here are pics from today:
    IMG_20180519_101751.jpg IMG_20180519_101832.jpg
    Redcap, Nap and Viking Bob like this.
  2. Nap Forum Moderator

England
    Hi there gazer

Good on you a nice start .....don't envy you on the scale though

Keep us all updated inbetween the hyper toddlers

Nap
  3. gazer Member

Israel