1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

what things influence your decisions?

Discussion in 'General Figure Talk' started by mrbeanhq, Feb 9, 2018.

1. mrbeanhq New Member

Hi.

I'm still pretty new to the whole display painting idea, having spent too many years on Games Workshop products (and I apologise for using those words. It won't happen again).

I've noticed my painting change the past two years buy I'm intrigued as to how others choose what type of plinth to use to display their work.

Now, coming from a more fantasy/sci-fi oriented painting background I've noticed that the painters I often see work by involve quite elaborate basing where the limited contact with historical pieces seem to be framed tightly with a bit of ground work and major focus on the miniature.

So basically, what things influence your decisions?
    Perseas and John Bowery like this.
  2. winfield Active Member

Great question. I only do mostly historic subjects. I consider environment to be part of the narrative, so I tend toward more than the little bit of ground you accurately describe as more common. Concern plinths, I try to match it with the subject. Some are simple, so a simple, nothing out of the ordinary base I find to be appropriate. A more complex or unusual piece, say with action or needing more environment to get the point across may result in something different. I need to point out that common wisdom on the subject says nothing should detract from the figure, and so minimal groundwork is in order. I understand this. It just does not work for me. Hope helps and does not confuse.--Steve
    Perseas likes this.
  3. valiant A Fixture

United-Kingdom
    I keep the groundwork to a minimum, just because I don't like doing it.....!(y)