1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Oils Using alkyds

Discussion in 'Painting Techniques' started by sippog, Jun 30, 2013.

1. sippog Active Member

United-Kingdom
    I have a small selection of Griffiths Alkyds sitting in a drawer which I have never used but thought I might experiment with. Can anyone give me any advice on them?

Am I right in thinking that Liquin is the right medium to use with them or can they be thinned with turps?

I'm a complete novice at using 'oils' on figures so any help woud be appreciated.:shy:
  2. philk New Member

Alkyds are a nice medium. They have the consistency and feel of oils with like an 18 hour drying time. Basically, whatever you would use for oils will also work with alkyds. I was considering using them instead of oils, decided to go acrylics instead. I'm not sure why they aren't better embraced by figure painters. Availability I guess.
  3. garyhiggins A Fixture

England
    Hi Sippog, I don,t know why people have a thing about "oils", they are just another means fo putting colour onto a figure, no mystery to them. In fact they're about the easiest paints to use,you don't need to be as technically disciplined as you do with acrylics or enamels and you have plenty of time to "mess around".