1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Questions on the book "How to paint like the masters"

Discussion in 'Painting Techniques' started by Chris Kelm, Oct 5, 2015.

1. Chris Kelm Active Member

United-States
    I have been painting figures seriously now for about 2 years in acrylics. A friend of mine told me of the book "How to paint like the masters" by professor Sheppard. He told me that this book is the best one to learn how to paint figures showing light as well as the different ways to paint skin tones,also it would help me with any questions I may have when paint flesh tones. So with this in mind I was thinking about buying this book,I don't know yet. I would like to get your opinions on this book.
    Thank you.
    Chris
  2. Blind Pew A Fixture

United-Kingdom
    I've had a glance at the book you mean and it bears no correlation to what we do as painters of miniatures.

Try to find 'Building & Painting Scale Figures' by Sheppard Paine, God rest him. Probably the best book around for those wanting to learn & improve after all these years.
    chailey likes this.
  3. samson Well-Known Member

United-States
    Agree with the above find the book mentioned .
  4. chailey Active Member

England
    Shep's book is probably still the best guide to figure painting that's been produced, however it is very much oil paint orientated, a point to bear in mind if you use acrylics.
    Bill Horans 'Masterclass' runs it a close second, but that has an enamel bias....
  5. ACCOUNT_DELETED A Fixture

Canada