1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Painting Josey (Need Input)

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by JCOX, Jan 24, 2006.

1. JCOX Active Member

United-States
    Hey All,

I've started painting my Josey Wales sculpt and I need some help from all you painters. This is my first attempt at an all-acrylic paint up. The face is done and the jacket (gray) is basically done. The shirt (blue), bandana and hair/beard have been started. What stands out to you that needs improvement? What are the some major or more subtle flaws that you see? All comments are welcome and appreciated. Thanks in advance for your input.

-jim cox

[IMG][IMG]
    [IMG][IMG]
  2. KeithP Active Member

United-States
    Jim-

I like it! You have his facial "squint" spot on!

For the beard, I think it's a bit too well groomed. Perhaps need to add a bit more scruffy hairs to his beard up to the cheek and lips area.

My recollection is that his clothing was a bit more faded. The blue and red could be toned down a bit.

In general though, I really like this bust! (y)

Keith
  3. garyjd Well-Known Member

United-States
    Very nice. Maybe some lighter highlights on the high parts of the face.~Gary
  4. Arminous Member

Hi there!

Ok,unpaint it and start over again...(Kidding :lol:).Very nice so far!Good you're working with acrylics,you'll be able to make corrections and additions.So,based on my poor knowledge,go for it and make a mix of your basic skintone with some brown(Burned Sienna),black and a small quantity of green.Use this mix very thinned to shadow the area above the beard to the chickbones.This will make the figure look unshaved.Highlight it adding white and flesh color to this mix.