1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP Critique Officer of the Guide

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by Bailey, Nov 24, 2014.

1. Bailey A Fixture

United-States
    I've been working on a lot of 54mm figures for the past year and a half but I recently had the urge to move to a slightly larger scale. I love working on 54's, but when it comes to in person display the bigger figures just have more impact. So this weekend I started painting this 75mm figure from Pegaso. The kit is of an Officer of the Guide from Napoleon's campaigns in Egypt. It's a nicely detailed figure and I remember seeing a well done version on PF about a year ago.

I'm pretty happy with how the green and red on his coat turned out. I'm not 100% on how to do the gold lace. My current plan is to use a mix of metallic and matte paints to get a semi-metallic finish. I haven't tried this approach before so it will take a bit of experimentation. Aside from the lace I don't see anything on this guy being too tricky, so hopefully this will be a fun and relatively quick project.

OG01b.jpg OG02.jpg OG03.jpg OG04.jpg OG05.jpg
  2. merlino Well-Known Member

Italy
    compliments!
  3. Wings5797 A Fixture

France
    Well worth the time you are taking.
    Super work David.
    Cheers,
    Keith
  4. smudger1960 PlanetFigure Supporter

United-Kingdom
    This is a beautiful piece of work,the green colours look brilliant as does the red and flesh,I can't wait to see this finished.
    Congratulations bailey
  5. pang New Member

I think the green colours look great,too.
    Let me know how...
    Thanks.
  6. NickM Well-Known Member

Australia
    Absolutely stunning painting (y) I like his face and the flesh tones you've used in particular.