1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP My first attempt at painting, B-17 gunner

Discussion in 'Just starting...' started by hypertex, Jul 13, 2015.

1. hypertex Active Member

United-States
    Hello, I am brand new to figure painting and I would like some feedback on my first attempt at painting a face. I realize my first try is sloppy and unrefined, so keep in mind this is my very first attempt. I would say that I am not discouraged by my first try.

This is Young Miniatures 1/10 scale B-17 waist gunner bust. I was planning on painting the face several times for the sake of practice and repetition. Painted with acrylics, mostly Vallejo. The face looks better in person, leave it to my camera to make my painting look worse!

I need advice on painting the 5 o'clock shadow. I tried a technique where I paint a very thin layer of dark blue paint. But I had trouble controlling such a thin paint--it kept pooling and showing tide marks. And yes I did touch my brush to a towel to draw off the excess water, but it still pooled. I've also experimented with using various mediums from Vallejo, but I still get a very uneven coat. See for your self:

[IMG]
    Advice would be appreciated.

Chris
    crf likes this.
  2. Ferris A Fixture

Hi Chris,

Overall not bad for a very first attempt. Tone looks right. I suppose you are using acrylics?
    In time you can start working with highlights and shades. When doing so lat the applications dry before doing the next pass. A hair drier will speed things up. The power of acrylics is in layering many transparant layers. It requires some practice, but once you get the concept, it's not very hard and most enjoyable. There are many tutorials on the web. Do check them out.