1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Masterson's wet palette

Discussion in 'Tools of the Trade/Accessories' started by zurek42, Feb 9, 2018.

1. zurek42 New Member

Hello,
    Recently, I have bought Masterson's wet palette. To be honest it is my first wet palette - earlier experiences with DIY wet palettes were failures - baking paper was drying out or paint was drying out on palette (I believe because that all baking paper in Poland is silicon coated).

So, I have started painting using Masterson's palette and it is okay, although I am still learning. However, there are some things that are strange to me. I am using Vallejo paints and I am doing some mixes on the palette - sometime I add one or two drops of water and these water is absorbed by sponge (but in a container I have some 'free' water) and starts to look like mud. The paint is workable - I am just touching paint by wet brush. I am attaching photo of my palette after around 90 minutes.
    Is this something normal with this specific palette or am I doing something wrong? Also, I would love to hear any tips and tricks how to use such palette.

DSC_1053.JPG
    KenBoyle and theBaron like this.
  2. theBaron A Fixture

United-States
    I'll be curious to hear any replies, too. I use a home-made palette. I don't have any problems, but I'm always keen to learn new tricks for it.

I made mine from a take-out container and a kitchen sponge, and I use brown package wrapping paper for the membrane. Here's a shot of it:

[IMG]