1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP Critique French Dragoon and Painting Faces SBS

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by Bailey, Aug 9, 2014.

1. Bailey A Fixture

United-States
    I just started on this 54mm figure from Pegaso. This is my first time working on a dragoon, so any help on getting the uniform and colors correct would be much appreciated. As I understand it the green color should be pretty dark. I know I've got a couple color options for the details. I'm tempted to go with yellow, something like the 20th Dragoons. Anyone know what shade of yellow to use? I was planning to go with sort of a lemon yellow, but perhaps a bit more faded looking. Would that be appropriate?

So far I've only finished the face. I'm planning to put together a step by step article on this figure, so I thought I'd share my process on the face. Here's what I've got so far and keep reading below for the SBS....

Drgn_02.jpg Drgn_01.jpg Drgn_03.jpg

Painting the Face

There are a lot of different approaches to painting faces, here's my take on it. I'm working with acrylics, primarily Reaper Master Series and then a few of the GW glazes. The following numbers refer to each row of pictures in the image series below

1 - The face is base coated with Rosy Shadow
    2 - I rough in the shadows with mostly Chestnut Brown (I like to use a reddish brown for the shadows) but then a bit of Mahogany Brown in the darker shadows around the eyes, in the nostrils, under the chin, and a bit in the left cheek (his head is slightly tilted so the left side will be darker). The main reason I do this is to get the shadows around the eyes finished before I go in there to do those fine details.