1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Free Hand Designs

Discussion in 'Post Your Own Articles & SBS' started by Bailey, Apr 16, 2012.

1. Bailey A Fixture

United-States
    One of the things I love to add to my figures is a design or pattern, something unique to make it stand out from the many other versions you may see around the web. This can take the form of a small detail like a line or pattern on a piece of clothing, an emblem on a shield or flag, or a more complicated pattern like a tartan. Painting designs on your figure can really be as simple or as complex as you'd like. I recommend starting small with simple designs and then working your way up to more complex ones as your confidence and skills increase. I know I'm still learning and improving, but I thought I would share my basic approach (and hopefully some follow up examples in the coming weeks and months).

My focus here is going to be painting designs free hand, as opposed to using a stencil. There are some great stencils out there and I see nothing wrong with using them. However, I like the freedom of painting free hand. You're not limited to the available stencils and sizes. I also like knowing that I did it myself and that the quality of the design matches the quality of the rest of the figure.

Example 1: Templar Cross
    I'm going to start simple. I'd like to paint a cross on a Templar's surcoat. This figure is 54mm, so I really don't want to go too crazy on this small scale.

Step 1: Planning