1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Completed First Scratch-built Bust

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by arj, Jun 13, 2015.

1. arj A Fixture

United-Kingdom
    Hi Folks,

This is my first attempt at sculpting a bust (scale 1/10).
    I've been trying to sculpt heads for a few months with varying success / failure and, after the twenty odth attempt, I finally decided that I ought to take it to the next stage.
    The torso is simply a series of sections of Super Sculpey stuck one on top of another and smoothed off before baking (I'm no artist, but I can call on some engineering skills).
    The subject is a Warsaw Militia man from around 1750, which I chose because there was no intricate detailing required.
    WM - 1750.jpg
    The following are the head and torso in their initial stages.
    Head 23.jpg IMG_1244r-c.jpg
    Subsequently stuck together, with sculpey clothing, miliput arms and belts and plastic buttons.
    IMG_1245r.jpg IMG_1246r.jpg
    And eventually moustache added, missing button replaced and bust primed.
    IMG_1249r.jpg
    Ultimately, the painting completed.
    IMG_1265r.jpg IMG_1266r.jpg IMG_1267r.jpg IMG_1268r.jpg
    I realise that there are many faults, such as the head location wrt the shoulders, the lower torso requiring to be fuller etc etc ...., but at least I've completed what I originally set out to do ...... create a bust of my very own.

I'd like to have another go soon and therefore would appreciate any and all critical comments to help me on my way.