1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Figure Fakes?

Discussion in 'General Figure Talk' started by Mozzy, Nov 9, 2016.

1. Mozzy Member

I ask this as I'm new to figure modelling and in particular don't as yet know what to look for.

Clearly if purchased from the sculptor, or bona-fide company, I feel safe. However; that well known auction site once again carries no end of 'bargains.' Usual blurb, no box or base blah de blah. And can be tempting.

Should I be concerned? I don't have a bottomless pit of money and well, turning a nose up at a bargain is tougher than it seems.

Just wondered

Mozzy
    garyhiggins likes this.
  2. Nap Moderator

England
    Mozzy

There are lots of dodgy companies selling bargains ..at the end of the day it's a personal choice and conscience ....my take on it is if folk was to buy from these then it's a nail in the coffin of the genuine company.

No one has unlimited money but support the genuine sellers.

There are lots of threads on this subject

Nap
  3. Mozzy Member

Thanks Nap I will read through

Mozzy
    garyhiggins likes this.
  4. Forté A Fixture

United-Kingdom
    Avoid things listed as 'Tin Soldiers" (not to be confused with Tin Berlin). Those are recasts 99% of the time.
    I find that most genuine sellers will name the make, give the proper name of the piece, put photos of the actual parts, and if they have it a pic of the box too.
  5. Nap Moderator

England
    There is of course our very own part of PF ...market and Commisions ...always genuine and original items from rather charming sellers as well

Bargains to be had as they say !

Nap
    garyhiggins and Forté like this.
  6. Bailey A Fixture

United-States