1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

Review CGS Line Lancer Trooper 1815

Discussion in 'Reviews , Video Reviews and Open Book' started by Chezzie, May 22, 2018.

1. Chezzie Well-Known Member

United-Kingdom
    Good evening. I have been lucky enough to get hold of one of Graham’s ‘French Line Lancer’s’ from CGS. As most of you now know I am a big fan of CGS figures and busts so was delighted when this one was released to compliment the Polish Lancer I already have in my collection. I am not an expert on Napoleonic History but have a keen interest in the period especially the final one hundred days building up to Waterloo. Cavalry tactics and units especially ‘float my boat’!

The Line lancers aren’t quite as infamous as the ‘Red’ or ‘Polish Lancers’ but earned their keep at Waterloo. The British not favouring the Lance until 1816 after witnessing the effect it had in the final days of Napoleons reign.

There were 9 Regiments of Line Lancers and they displayed various colours on their uniforms including red, orange scarlet and blue.

A company strength for the Lancers was 120 troops and when formed up had a frontage of 44 troopers wide. Only the front rank carried lances and pistols. The rest sabres, carbines with bayonets and pistols. There were 9 supernumerary on the rear rank who also carried lances.

The lance was 275cm long with and hand grip and loop at the point of balance. A pennon was hung from the top end prior to the point.

The Line Lancer Bust

It arrived quickly following ordering and was in the usual sturdy white cardboard, top opening box.

The instructions consisted of clear photographs of the finished Bust with painting guide.