1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP Critique Amaryne, 1/10th scale bust from Galapogas

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by tonydawe, Jan 24, 2016.

1. tonydawe A Fixture

Australia
    This is a real departure for me. I've never done a fantasy figure before and never done a female figure either.

This superb 1/10th scale bust called "Amaryne" by Galapagos was given to me by a friend and he said "there are no rules, no uniforms, no research and no limits on your imagination, just go nuts" so I thought about it for a few seconds and agreed to have a crack.

I don't have an idea what colour scheme to paint her in other than I want her to be a blonde with blue eyes. I've read through Nap's excellent Open Box review and now its time to get cracking.

I'm also going to try airbrushing for the first time and see if its something I could get into. I've been quietly watching all the instructional videos I can get my hands on and now that I have my airbrush and compressor set up its time to give it a try.

My wife gave me a funny look when I showed her the figure all primed and ready for painting. I think she's jealous :cautious:
    Elf Archer 1.jpg Elf Archer 3.jpg Elf Archer 2.jpg Elf Archer 4.jpg
    Nicolaos, NickM and gforceman like this.
  2. JasonB Moderator

United-States
    I have been wanting this fig since it was first released, just haven't popped on it yet. Is her right arm permanently attached or still lose?
  3. kiwi45 Active Member

New_Zealand
    Wow, looks a great sculpt, wouldn't mind doing it myself.
  4. tonydawe A Fixture

Australia
    Hi Jason,

Her right arm is tacked in place for the photo. I've decided to leave it off so I can paint the torso and face without the bow getting in the way.