1. Copying kits is a crime that hurts original artists & producers. Help support your favorite artists by buying their original works. PlanetFigure will not tolerate any activities related to recasting, and will report recasters to authorities. Thank you for your support!

WIP Critique 54mm Empress' Dragoons Officer

Discussion in 'vBench (Works in Progress)' started by Bailey, Jun 21, 2016.

1. Bailey A Fixture

United-States
    This past weekend I started painting this 54mm figure from Pegaso, an officer of the Empress' Dragoons. I started with the face using my usual process. A few details have been painted on. I added the cleft in the chin just with paint (he's got a big chin, so it was nice to add a little something there). I also did a big of highlighting on the side of the jaw to make it look like his face was being pushed/scrunched up by the chin strap.
    D04.jpg D03.jpg

From there I started working on the coat. It's still very much a work in progress, I haven't started on the sleeves or front yet, but I've put in some time on the collar and back. The color should be a dark green. Dark colors like this (green, blue, etc) can be tricky to paint. As you highlight them, they can easily start to look like a medium or even a light green. To counteract this, I use grey to highlight rather than a lighter shade of green. This desaturates as it lightens, which helps keep the overall look a dark one while still giving me a decent amount of contrast. For the shadows I mixed in Reaper's Burgundy Wine. The dark purple is a nice contrast to the green and provides additional depth/interest to the shadows without actually looking like purple.
    D05.jpg